Beauty Tuesday – Multi-Purpose Facial Serum

Wow! It’s been a whole month since I’ve posted a blog. I guess you could say I’ve been a bit busy. I’ll post on that another day.

Despite being so busy though, I wanted to make sure to post for Beauty Tuesday. Today I am sharing my recipe for my awesome facial serum. But first, I want to share a little story about how my husband discovered the awesomeness of this stuff.

My dear husband whom I love very much isn’t so into all the homemade, DIY, homemaking stuff (now if it has to do with a motorcycle, that’s a different story). The first night I made this serum he asked, “Is it really worth the time and effort to make all this stuff yourself?” My answer was, of course, YES! Fast forward a month or so…

He comes out of the bathroom after showering and says to me “I’ve been using that stuff in the brown bottle with the Hello Kitty Duct Tape* on my face and it works really well for my dry skin. What is it?”
image

*Yes, I used Hello Kitty Duct Tape on this bottle. Don’t judge. You’d do it too, if you had found it on clearance.

My reply, “That’d be the stuff you teased me about making a few weeks ago. I guess it really is worth it, huh?”

And to this day I may or may not tease him for belittling the wonders of homemade beauty products.

 

Anyway, the point of this story is to share that I made one of the biggest doubters I know into a believer without even trying. It really is that amazing. Oh, and it’s not just amazing for my husband’s dry skin. It works wonders for my crazy combination skin. (I have patches of skin that are dry and oily at the same time. How does that happen?!?!)

 

So, here’s the recipe that I know you are dying to know by now:
image

 

Multi-Purpose Facial Serum

Ingredients:

1/8 Cup Aloe Vera Gel

1 tsp Vegetable Glycerin

1/4 tsp Jojoba Oil

1/4 tsp Sweet Almond Oil

5 drops Melaleuca Essential Oil (tea tree)

5 drops Lavender Essential Oil

5 drops Frankincense Essential Oil

 

Directions:

Mix all ingredients into a dark (blue or brown) glass bottle. Shake well before each use. Apply desired amount to face and neck, avoiding mouth and eyes.

 

See my DIY Facial Toner post for other essential oil options.

Today I’m linking up with my dear friend Kate’s blog, Teaching What is Good, for her Women Helping Women link-up. Head over and check it out!

Let me know in the comments if you use this recipe and how you like it.

 

4 responses to “Beauty Tuesday – Multi-Purpose Facial Serum

Leave a Reply

